American College of Veterinary Emergency & Critical Care

    Dear ACVECC Diplomates,

    Nominations are sought for International Canine Health Awards - a fantastic opportunity to get yourself or a colleague recognized for the work you / they have done in the field of canine medicine and surgery.

    Through the Vernon and Shirley Hill Foundation, the International Canine Health Award Scheme provides significant prize money to reward those who promote and create significant and world-class work to improve the health and welfare of dogs through science and innovation.

    There are two global awards as follows:

    • International Prize in Canine Health with a prize fund of £40,000 (approx. US$ 53,000) for future projects - for outstanding contributions in the field of canine health and welfare. The Award will be presented to one or more individuals currently involved in canine research. 
    • International Lifetime Achievement Award with a Prize Fund of £10,000 (approx. US$ 13,200) to the individual - a veterinarian or scientist working in a relevant discipline who has dedicated most or much of their career to advancing the health of dogs. The Award will be presented someone who has made a significant impact on the world stage of canine health and welfare. 

    If you are a researcher or veterinary scientist whose work has a positive impact on the health and wellbeing of dogs, or if you would like to nominate someone else who is, please submit your application/nomination by the 28th of February, 2022

    For more information, visit or email 


    Frederic Gaschen,, Dr.habil., DACVIM (SAIM), DECVIM-CA

    Professor of Small Animal Internal Medicine 
    Louisiana State University 
    School of Veterinary Medicine, Baton Rouge, LA  70803 
    office 225-578-9600 | fax 225-578-9559 


    2022 T. Douglas Byars

    Equine Educator of the Year

    Dear ACVECC Diplomates, Residents, and Members of VECCS,


    The T. Douglas Byars Equine Educator of the Year Award will be presented at IVECCS 2022 in San Antonio, TX, September 7-11. The award is based on contributions to equine/large animal emergency and critical care education and programs, where individuals nominated must have been a speaker for IVECCS in the past. The award has been named in honor and memory of Dr. T. Douglas Byars who played an instrumental role in the development of the Large Animal Emergency & Critical Care specialty within ACVECC.


    We are now accepting nominations for this award, please click the button below to nominate a past IVECCS speaker today!


    Add Content...